

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE



28th November 2014

Keybow the star in the Brisbane Cup Heats

By Paul Dolan Racing Queensland Website

The Darren McDonald trained Keybow was the fastest of six heat winners in the group 1 Brisbane Cup at Albion Park last night.

Exiting box three in a big hurry, this year's Perth Cup winner carved out sectionals of 5.61, 11.53 and 12.67 to record a race time of 29.81. Keybow (pictured) scored by three and three quarter lengths over the Bill Elson trained Cyndie's Special whose 30.07 gets her into next Thursday's \$75,000 to the winner final.

Exhibitionist for Darryl Chapman of Grafton led all the way to win her heat from box six. Her sectionals were 5.50, 11.62 and 12.79 for 29.91. Reg Kay's Happy Haswell finished second and his 30.23 time puts him as first reserve for the final.

The Glenda Dart trained Fusaichi Khan kept the flag flying for New South Wales with an all the way box five win. The son of Where's Pedro and Daydream ran sectionals of 5.59, 11.59 and 12.78 for 29.96. Last year's Brisbane Cup winner Kiss Me Ketut for Dave Burnett finished second, beaten one and a half lengths. His 30.06 gets him into the final.

South Australian Derby and Sandown Shootout winner Iva Vision led all the way from box two in 30.15. His sectionals were 5.67, 11.72 and 12.76.

Consistent local performer Le Sirenuse for Tom Tzouvelis won her heat from box five, leading most of the way in 5.59, 11.70 and 12.88 for 30.17.

Peter Ruetschi made it to another Albion Park feature final when You Can Talk led most of the way from box seven. Her splits were 5.56, 11.71 and 12.93 for 30.20. Second placegetter Clash of Kings for Steve Whyte clocked 30.30 and becomes the second reserve for the final.

AUSTRALIAN BREYHOUND RABINB ASSUBIATION

The inconvenience of having Albion Park out of action recently for five weeks for reconstruction paid dividends last night.

The suburb of Albion received 42 millimetres of racing during Thursday's vicious late afternoon thunderstorm. While Albion Park didn't cop the brunt of the hail damage, the new drainage worked to perfection during and following the torrential rain. Chairman of stewards Jamie Dart kept the track rating as good and Keybow's 29.81 winning time in race three confirmed that rating.

The meeting was delayed by twenty minutes, not because of the track condition, but due to some trainers being delayed driving through the southern and western suburbs of Brisbane en route to Albion Park.

GROUP ONE – SKY RACING BRISBANE CUP \$75,000 to the winner

Box Draw and TAB Fixed Market for the Sky Racing Brisbane Cup:

\$75,000 to the winner Group 1 Sky Racing Brisbane Cup 520						
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	H/T		
1	Cyndie's Special	Bill Elson	\$9.50	R/U		
2	Iva Vision	Peter Young	\$2.30	30.15		
3	You Can Talk	Peter Ruetschi	\$31	30.20		
4	Exhibitionist	Darryl Chapman (NSW)	\$7.50	29.91		
5	Le Sirenuse	Tom Tzouvelis	\$41	30.17		
6	Fusaichi khan	Glenda Dart	\$18	29.96		
7	Keybow	Darren McDonald (VIC)	\$2.30	29.81		
8	Kiss Me Ketut	David Burnett (VIC)	\$10	R/U		
/9/2	Happy Haswell (RES)	Reg Kay	\$3.10			
10	Clash Of Kings (RES)	Steve Whyte (VIC)	\$11			

Local expert's selections for the final are as follows.

Paul DolanJohn BraschLuke Gatehouse1st Keybow1st Iva Vision1st Keybow2nd Kiss Me Ketut2nd Keybow2nd Iva Vision3rd Iva Vision3rd Kiss Me Ketut3rd Kiss Me Ketut



What's happening on race night?

A great night is assured on and off the track with the usual Bar's, Totes plus the regular Thursday night activity found at Albion Park. First race is at 6.40 pm and the Brisbane Cup race 8 at 9.12. The club is planning a 12 race card for next week should there be sufficient nominations.



Last Year's winner Kiss Me Ketut is a chance to go back to back (Pic Clint Anderson)

The Brisbane Cup has had a few name changes when it was first run in 1972 and won by Victorian Garron Court the race was known as the Gabba Sprint Championship. It remain that name until 1976. It was then called the Brisbane Cup from 1977 until 1981 changed in 1982 to be known as the Coca-Cola Cup until 1999 when it changed back to the Brisbane Cup. The race was conducted at the Gabba until the track closed in 1992 and since has been staged at Albion Park. Listed below is the Honour Roll containing some of the champion greyhounds among the past winners.

	COCA-COLA CUP WINNE	RS
	GABBA 558M	
1972	GARRON COURT (VIC)	33.67
1973	TOP SIMBI	32.85
1974	MISTER OOLLEE	32.90
1975	ALPHA BRAVA (NSW)	32.70
1976	CLOVER DUKE (NSW)	32.74
1977	REBEL ATTACK	32.61
1978	YOUNG BREEZE (NSW)	33.31
1979	ACCLAIM STAR (NSW)	32.73
1980	GENERAL JEFF (NSW)	32.72
1981	PICTURE THIS (VIC)	32.95
1982	PETER GLIDER (NSW)	32.89
1983	ACACIA PARK (NSW)	32.58
1984	NATIONAL LASS (NSW)	32.60
1985	SUPER MAX (VIC)	32.74
1986	PRETTY FEARLESS	32.69
1987	WHIP TIP (NSW)	32.64
1988	DANCING GAMBLE	32.57

1991	NO IT'S NOT - Group 1		32.32	
1992	WHITE COONOWRIN - Group 1		32.83	
	BRISBANE CU	P WINNERS		
	ALBION PA	RK 520M		
1993	STAR TITLE (NSW)	30.34	Grp 1	
1994	TOSS THE TEDDY	30.50	Grp 1	
1995	FLYING AMY	29.89	Grp 1	
1996	SILVER PAGEANT	30.46	Grp 1	
1997	BARRIO BABE	30.24	Grp 1	
1998	QUESTIONS (NSW)	30.21	Grp 2	
1999	BOB'S ONE (NSW)	30.02	Grp 1	
2000	KANTARN BALE (VIC)	30.05	Grp 1	
2001	TRICKY CREEK	29.97	Grp 1	
2002	TRICKY CREEK	30.15	Grp 1	
2003	BOGIE LEIGH	29.85	Grp 1	
2004	MALFOY	30.16	Grp 1	
2005	POROROCA	29.66	Grp 1	
2006	PURE BURST	30.10	Grp 1	
2007	UNO JOEL	30.39	Grp 1	
2008	EL GALO	29.84	Grp 1	
2009	MR METZ	30.11	Grp 1	
2010	HE KNOWS UNO (NSW)	30.00	Grp 1	
2011	GLEN GALLON	30.10	Grp 1	

This event was known and sponsored by the following:-

GOT A MOMENT

KISS ME KETUT

GOLDEN FOX (NSW)

WHISKY BALE (NSW)

1972 - 1999 - Coca-Cola Cup

2000 - Brisbane Cup

2012

2013

1989

1990



Perth Cup winner and fastest heat winner Keybow

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown

AGRA Publicity Officer

Tel: 03 97691234 Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton
AGRA Executive Officer

32.63

32.99

Grp 1 Grp 1

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838

29.85

29.82